Pin It

Washington, DC- Congressman Tom Reed announced Tuesday that 16 individuals from New York's 23rd Congressional District were granted Fulbright awards -- including one from Lansing, one from Candor, One from Brooktondale, and eight from Ithaca -- during the 2016-2017 academic year.

"The Fulbright Program is one of the most prestigious and sought after academic exchange programs in the world and it is our honor to congratulate these 16 individuals from our communities," Reed said. "These scholars have been identified as current or future leaders in their fields, and we are proud to have them representing our nation abroad," he added.

The Fullbright Program is funded through an annual appropriation and was established by Congress in 1946 to forge connections between American scholars and emerging leaders in other countries. These relationships help to build an environment of trust and respect in which the United States can promote peace and security around the globe.

Ms. Erin Rieger, of Lansing; Ms. Sarah Fitch, of Candor; Dr. Narges Kasiri, of Ithaca; Mr. Brian Kraus, of Waverly; Ms. Haley Kulakowski, of Jamestown; Ms. Eilis Monahan, of Ithaca; Mr. Jonathan Ochshorn, of Ithaca; Dr. Colin Parrish, of Ithaca; Ms. Karen Rodriguez, of Ithaca; Mr. Jeffrey Wall, of Ithaca; Dr. Donathan Brown, of Ithaca; Dr. William Brown, of Fredonia; Dr. Iclal Cetin Vanwesenbeeck, of Fredonia; Mr. Allan Curry, of Canandaigua; Dr. G. Erickson, of Brooktondale; and Dr. Wendy Wolford, of Ithaca, received Fulbright awards.

Pin It