Pin It
nightofchampions LaurenTrumbleVinnieDarpino120Taughannock Media, owners of ESPN Ithaca – WPIE, in partnership with Ehrhart Energy and Guthrie, awarded 56 outstanding scholar-athletes and coaches for their performances during the 2014-15 school year. The recipients, many accompanied by family, colleagues and friends, celebrated at the Night of Champions Awards Dinner at the Country Club of Ithaca on June 14th. The annual event is designed to showcase the top talent of all varsity sports from 15 local high schools including most of the IAC and one in the STAC West. ESPN Ithaca President and General Manager, Todd Mallinson stated, "It's a remarkable night, to have that kind of talent in one room is electric. Night of Champions recognizes athletes and coaches of all sports on equal stage and the athletes seem to really appreciate the recognition."

Two $1,000 scholarships, contributed by Ehrhart Energy, were awarded to both the Male and Female Scholar- Athletes of the Year. Two $500 scholarships, given by Gujthrie, were presented to the top Coaches of the Year, one in a girls sport and one in a boys sport. The scholarships will be granted to scholar-athletes the coaches select at their respective schools.

2014-15 Female Scholar-Athlete of the Year is Lauren Trumble, a two sport scholar-athlete at Ithaca High, contributing to the success of the Cross Country and Outdoor Track & Field Teams. Trumble has a lengthy list of accomplishments including holding school records in the 3000M and the 1500M.

2014-15 Male Scholar-Athlete of the Year is Vincent Darpino, a three sport athlete at Newark Valley High, excelling as a three sport athlete in Football, Wrestling & Baseball. Among many accomplishments, Darpino was named first team an All-State Linebacker.

nightofchampions EricStickelLansing's Eric Stickel

2014-15 Coach of the Year in a Girls Sport is Eric Stickel, coach of the Lansing High Girls Soccer Team, led the team to IAC Large School & Section IV Championships and the NYS Finals where they fell 1-0.

2014-15 Coach of the Year in a Boys Sport is Jim Hodges, long time coach at Union Springs for Boys Soccer, in which he guided the team to capture the Section IV Class B Championship and finished ranked 14th in the state. For more information contact:

Full List of 2014-15 ESPN Ithaca Night of Champions Outstanding Scholar-Athlete & Coach Recipients

Award recipients were determined by overall performance in their sport. Each scholar-athlete recipient maintains a minimum Grade Point Average of 85.
FALL Season Outstanding Scholar- Athletes
Football: Vincent Darpino – Newark Valley
Boys Soccer: Alex Purcell – Lansing
Girls Soccer: Taylor Bennett – Dryden
Boys Cross Country: Daniel Dracup – Ithaca
Girls Cross Country: Kayla Stewart – Newark Valley Girls Tennis: Zoe Merod – Ithaca
Field Hockey: Alison Eaton – Marathon
Girls Volleyball: Anna Shelley – Trumansburg
Girls Swimming – Ayla Bonniwell – Ithaca

FALL Season Outstanding Coaches
Football: John Crossgrove – Moravia
Boys Soccer: Jim Hodges – Union Springs
Girls Soccer: Eric Stickel – Lansing
Boys Cross Country: Eric D’Arcy – Newark Valley
Girls Cross Country: John Fazzary –
Watkins Glen Field Hockey: Doug Langtry – Moravia
Girls Volleyball: Angela McLennan – Trumansburg
Girls Swimming – Roy Staley – Ithaca
Girls Indoor Track & Field: Lee Stuttle – Dryden
Cheerleading: Alisha Scheffler – Dryden

WINTER Season Outstanding Scholar- Athletes
Boys Bowling: Brandon Mikula – Lansing
Girls Bowling: Samantha Bradley – Watkins Glen
Boys Swimming: Kevin Miller – Ithaca
Boys Basketball: Luke Flahive – Watkins Glen
Girls Basketball: Emily Kopp – Southern Cayuga
Boys Hockey: Alex Wolczanski – Ithaca
Girls Hockey: Clara Karastury – Ithaca
Boys Indoor Track & Field: Evan DeGraw – Union Springs
Girls Indoor Track & Field: Abbey Yatsko – Dryden
Cheerleading: Alex Zehr – Dryden
Wrestling: Jimmy Overhiser – Lansing

WINTER Season Outstanding Coaches
Boys Bowling: Lee Christopher – Lansing Girls
Bowling: Ward Brower – Watkins Glen
Boys Swimming: Mike Blakely-Armitage – Ithaca
Boys Basketball: Duane Barrett – Newfield
Girls Basketball: Alicia Learn – Watkins Glen
Boys Hockey: Paul Zarach – Ithaca
Girls Hockey: Emily Grippen – Ithaca
Boys Indoor Track & Field: Lee Stuttle – Dryden
Girls Indoor Track & Field: Lee Stuttle – Dryden
Cheerleading: Alisha Scheffler – Dryden
Wrestling: Eric D’Arcy – Newark Valley

SPRING Season Outstanding Scholar- Athletes
Baseball: Trevor Rumsey – Trumansburg
Softball: Grace Van Horn – Union Springs
Boys Golf: Danny Lapp – Trumansburg
Girls Golf: Halle Phillips – Watkins Glen
Boys Lacrosse: Thomas Johnson – Ithaca
Girls Lacrosse: Lauren Duthie – Ithaca
Boys Tennis: Justin Milner – Ithaca
Boys Outdoor Track & Field: Jacob Cozzarin – Trumansburg
Girls Outdoor Track & Field: Lauren Trumble – Ithaca

SPRING Season Outstanding Coaches
Baseball: Scott Voorhees – Trumansburg
Softball: James Bona – Union Springs
Boys Golf: Dan Miller – Ithaca
Girls Golf: Shelly Matheny – Lansing
Boys Lacrosse: Frank Welch – Ithaca
Girls Lacrosse: Lyn Reitenbach – Ithaca
Boys Tennis: Arthur Falkson – Ithaca
Girls Tennis: Scott Morse – Watkins Glen
Boys Outdoor Track & Field: Eric Parker – Ithaca
Girls Outdoor Track & Field: Jan Hunsinger – Moravia

Pin It